top of page
Established in 1947, SCCTE is an organization devoted to helping teachers grow professionally, from building professional networks with teachers from around the state to sharing the latest information on literacy, our organization is focused on sustaining the work of our exemplary teachers across South Carolina.  We are a nonprofit, state affiliate for the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), dedicated to supporting and enhancing English language arts instruction in the state of South Carolina.  We promote diverse learning opportunities that serve the various learning communities across the state.  Our board members hope SCCTE serves as a professional home for English educators in South Carolina.

WHAT WE DO

We host an annual professional conference focused on best practices, research, and issues that impact the teaching of English.  Our primary aim is collaboration with engaging keynote speakers, our members, educators of all levels, and exhibitors.  We hope that members not only attend but also present at the conference, sharing their insight and leadership and influencing change not only in student outcomes, but more importantly in how students see and change the world as South Carolina graduates.

 

SCCTE also recognizes the accomplishments of talented educators through our awards.  Please visit our awards section for more information on how to participate and nominate an outstanding educator for their work in literacy.

2023-2024 EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS

KHostetler_edited.jpg

PRESIDENT

Dr. Kayla Hostetler

Aiken High School

khostetler@acpsd.net

PAST PRESIDENTS

Kim Alexander

Scholars Academy

kalexander001@horrycountyschools.net

Kay Sellers

Carolina Forest High School

ssellers@horrycountyschools.net

Dr. Mary Styslinger

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Dr. Mary Styslinger

University of South Carolina

mstyslin@mailbox.sc.edu

MEMBERSHIP VP

Nicole Walker

Scholars Academy Magnet &

Ridge View High School

nwalker@richland2.org

TREASURER

Dr. Meredith Love

Francis Marion University

mlove@fmarion.edu

Melissa Tucker

PROGRAMS VP

Melissa Tucker

Rock Hill High School

mtucker@rhmail.org

April Hamon

SECRETARY

April Harmon

Riverside High School

aaharmon@greenville.k12.sc.us

RHarper_edited.jpg

TREASURER

Dr. Rebecca G. Harper

Augusta University

rharper7@augusta.edu

NWalker.JPG

2023-2024 BOARD MEMBERS

ANolette.jpg

SECONDARY DIRECTOR

Ashley Nolette

Anderson University

aanolette19@hotmail.com

SCET EDITOR

Dr. Matthew Nelson

Francis Marion University

mnelson@fmarion.edu

MIDDLE LEVEL DIRECTOR

Gretchen Ayers

Horry County Schools

gayers@horrycountyschools.net

RETIRED TEACHERS LIASON

Jay Philon

Carolina Forest High School

jphilon@horrycountyschools.net

COLLEGE DIRECTOR

AMayernik.jpg

CERRA/SCDOE LIASON

Allison Thompson

Riverside High School

amayernik@greenville.k12.sc.us

bottom of page