The Executive Board of the South Carolina Council of Teachers of English invites you to be a part of our professional organization. SCCTE is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of English, and it is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of language arts at all levels of education, kindergarten through college. 

 

Each year we host an annual professional conference focused on the teaching of English. We encourage members and non-members alike to consider presenting at the conference, sharing the practices from their own classrooms that lead to change - change in student outcomes, change in how students see the world, or practices that lead students changing our world. SCCTE also recognizes the accomplishments of talented teachers each year through our awards. Please visit our awards page and consider nominating an outstanding teacher for their work in literacy.



We hope SCCTE will become a professional home for all teachers of English in South Carolina. SCCTE is an organization devoted to helping teachers grow professionally, from building professional networks with teachers from around the state to sharing the latest information on literacy, our organization is focused on sustaining the work of our exemplary teachers across South Carolina. We understand what teachers need in order to succeed in the 21st Century and we promote diverse learning opportunities that will serve the various learning communities across the state.

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERS

PRESIDENTS

Kim Alexander

Scholars Academy

kalexander001@horrycountyschools.net

 

Kay Sellers

Carolina Forest High School

ssellers@horrycountyschools.net

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Kayla Hostetler

Aiken High School

khostetler@acpsd.net

PAST-PRESIDENT

Matt Nelson

Francis Marion University
mnelson@fmarion.edu

PROGRAMS VP

Alyssa Leibman

Florence 1 Schools

aleibman@fsd1.org

 

MEMBERSHIP VP

Martina McKoy

Horry County Schools

 mmckoy@horrycountyschools.net

 

TREASURER

Meredith Love

Francis Marion University

mlove@fmarion.edu

SECRETARY

April Harmon

Riverside High School

aaharmon@greenville.k12.sc.us

BOARD MEMBERS

College Director

Mary Schreuder

maryschreuder83@gmail.com.

Secondary Director

Melissa Tucker

Rock Hill High School

MTucker@rhmail.org

Middle School Directors

Raedene Averitt

North Myrtle Beach Middle School

raveritt@horrycountyschools.net

 

Gretchen Ayers

Horry County Schools

gayers@horrycountyschools.net

CERRA/SCDOE Liaison

Allison Mayernik

Riverside High School

amayernik@greenville.k12.sc.us 

AP Outreach

Terry Filippo

Retired Teachers Liaison

Jay Philon

Carolina Forest High School

jphilon@horrycountyschools.net

SCET Editor

Matthew Nelson
Francis Marion University

mnelson@fmarion.edu